2013 Flashback – My Desktop: July 2013

Mesnard desktop 13.07

(This feature promotes discussion and interaction: giving an inside look of my creative craziness.  Ask about something about the desktop image and I shall answer.)

Wait?  Can it be?  Less icons this time around.  Amazing – I know.

The desktop reflected heading back to Camp Nano and reflecting at my April accomplishment of a screenplay (albeit unfinished).  I want to tackle prose this July; even if I may skip around in unfinished territory.

Last month I was dealing with some screenplays: one being the aforementioned script; and another was reading/critiquing a project written by a friend and holds a lot of potential.

Below the sanctioned Camp Nano image was something I ran into: The Six Stage Story Structure by Michael Hauge.

Once I started developing my own style (which I really wish I knew what it was…but I’m sure there’s one hiding in there somewhere), I found little use for the three-act structure of screenplays.  I believe in a beginning, middle, and ending.  I believe in hiding the blatancy [however necessary] of backstory; the term exposition often eludes me.  Characters need should be individuals with unique voices.

I do my best to make things just interesting enough for the person to want to turn the page; click the page down button; hit the jump.When I stumbled onto this script/story image {full disclosure: I discovered the structure while checking out my screenplay software site}, I took notice since it appeared more as the way I write.  I composited the image since I did like the way it visually spaces the six versus three act elements.

There’s no unifying rule to structure, but perhaps the one for Camp Nano is meet your goal.  The nice thing being you can set that goal.  I’ll take the default…  50k, please.  Your mileage (er, word count) may vary.

Please Reply:

