It’s Away! [Pitchapalooza]

The Book Doctors Arielle Eckstut and David Henry Sterry

I just took a potshot at Pitchapalooza’s second Nanowrimo contest.  This is the first year I feel like I officially qualify since I was a “rebel” in 2010 and worked on finishing two previous novels rather than start something new.

To qualify for Nanowrimo Pitchapalooza, one had to “win” Nanowrimo and submit a [no more than] 200 word synopsis during the month of February.  Even though it’s supposed to be a “random” 25 submissions selected, I went big: spending serious time editing a perfect-as-I-can-get-it pitch; which I’m sure can still use a lot of improvement.

They duo behind the The Book Doctors site critique all of the chosen entries.  Win, lose, or place…at least i tried.  And for all those who know my writing style – I was able to land my summary under 200.  My writing program said it clocks in at 191 words, but my grammatical cross-checking said the summary was under 170 words.  I’d rather play it safe since I think the hyphenated words were the points of contention.

What’s the big deal about this event?  Here’s an excerpt from their January 31st explanation in the Office of Letters and Light blog…

“It’s our job to help writers make their dreams come true. It’s what we did with our first Pitchapalooza winners, Nura Maznavi and Ayesha Mattu, whose book, Love InshAllah, just hit the shelves. In the last week, they were profiled in the New York Times, had one of the most talked about pieces on the Huffington Post, and cracked the top 500 of all books sold on Amazon. Then there’s Pitchapalooza winner and NaNoWriMo veteran, Genn Albin. After she won Pitchapalooza, one of New York’s top agents sold her dystopian novel in a three-book, six-figure deal.”

Pretty cool for finishing a writing marathon.  I read the twenty-five summaries [and reviews] to get an idea of what I needed to do to come off somewhat decently.

I won’t know anything (good or bad) for a week or so.  My hopes aren’t high, but at least i am more interested in furthering my novel…after I finish editing my first Figment-exclusive post.

Related links:

http://blog.lettersandlight.org/post/16836319467

http://www.thebookdoctors.com/nanowrimo-online-pitchaplaooza

Please Reply:

